Some questions don’t have answers

Questions, there are big questions and small questions, questions with answers and questions that linger for a life time. Sometimes I just wonder why questions don’t get answered or don’t even seem to have an answer. Last night/ early morning (5am), Aaron and I woke up to a loud knock on the door. I thought the knock was coming from my dreams but then the door bell rang as well. Aaron stumbled out of the bedroom to answer the door and all I kept thinking was, please don’t wake up my sleeping baby… And then I had a thought of panic, something must be wrong. Aaron opened the door to find a police officer on the other said and he told us that it looked like Aaron’s car had been broken into. Fortunately Aaron forgot to lock his car last night and so they didn’t break any windows or anything and fortunately we don’t keep ANYTHING valuable in our cars. The police officer said that there apparently had been several cars in the neighborhood that had been “rummaged through”. The police officer got some information from Aaron and then said they would be out looking for the person who was doing this and hopefully find him or her. We went back inside and got back in bed.
As I laid back down trying to go back to sleep, the thoughts began, most of them not having answers. Why didn’t this person try to break into our house, why do people steal at all, should I be worried that someone might try to break into my house? Then I starting thinking, what would I do if someone broke into our house… I do know that if someone did break in, they wouldn’t get very far before I would wake up because I hear EVERYTHING.
We recently had some friends from our church dealing with some strange noises in their house, coming from their heater. They repeatedly told the land lord about them but he did nothing. One night they decided to go stay elsewhere because the noises were worrying them… Listen to the still small voice inside, we have the Holy Spirit for a reason. The next day their house burned down and most of their stuff was gone. Again the questions come up… Why did this happen to them? They are good godly people they love The Lord… Why would this happen? Why were their lives spared? How will they function without all of their stuff? What if that happened to us, what would we do… Would we be able to function and rest in God’s peace even though all of our worldly possessions were gone?
Even though I have all of these questions, most of them not having an answer… I do know that God sees the big picture, that he loves us deeper than we could even imagine and despite what we see in front of our faces, despite how hard our days are or how lonely our nights are or despite the things we can’t control and the questions we can’t answer… God is right with us, he knows EVERY feeling we have felt… He knows right where we are and can comfort us and bring us peace through anything we might encounter. Take courage in whatever questions you might have, big or small, God is in the midst of them and sees the big picture!
On a brighter note… And if you didn’t read my post from yesterday… My little girl did not want any oatmeal or yogurt or really anything I offered her, today she ate oatmeal, yogurt and an egg! Go girl! Well I think this is the end of my thoughts for right now, thanks for listening. And take heart!

20130111-130154.jpg

20130111-130221.jpg

20130111-130243.jpg


Leave a comment